PUD 3 offices will remain closed for the foreseeable future. Learn more about PUD 3's response to COVID-19 here.

Nuestra página ahora ofrece una nueva opción para traducir ésta página para clientes de habla Hispana. Ésta opción puede ser accedida en el menú de la parte superior derecha de nuestra página principal. Seleccione "Spanish". Para revertir ésta opción, presione el botón "Show Original" en la parte superior izquierda, o presione la "X" en la parte superior derecha de la página.

Safety of Mason County Power Workers Honored by National Association

Safety of Mason County Power Workers Honored by National Association

by Mason PUD 3 on

April 04, 2019

One of PUD 3's core values is safety…that of our employees, partners, customers and the community.

hwy-108-safety.jpg(SHELTON, WA) -- Mason County’s two public power utilities were honored this month with the 2018 American Public Power Association’s Safety Awards of Excellence for safe operating practices.

Mason PUD 3 and Mason PUD 1 were among 113 utilities to be given the award, announced this week by the association.

“Mason PUD 3’s core values include a strong commitment to safety,” said Annette Creekpaum, PUD 3 manager. “We ensure the safety of our workers, partners, and community by taking a proactive approach to identifying and preventing safety issues.”

“Safety programs are paramount to the well-being of employees that work for electric utilities,” said Keith Cutshall, chair of APPA’s Safety Committee. “The utilities receiving this award have proven that safety is of the utmost importance in the operation of their companies.”

Three hundred twenty-five utilities took part in the Safety Awards competition. It is the highest number of entrants in the history of the program. Entrants were placed in categories according to their number of worker-hours and ranked based on the most incident-free records during 2018. The incidence rate, used to judge entries, is based on the number of work-related reportable injuries or illnesses and the number of worker-hours during 2018, as defined by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA).

The Safety Awards have been held annually for the last 60 years. A complete list of winners is available at www.Publicpower.org/safety-award-winners. Other Washington State winners included Cowlitz PUD and Energy Northwest.